Wrestlemania 29 – My Predictions

While I will never fail to get as excited a kid every time Wrestlemania rolls around. Looking at the card I’m struggling to find a match that’s going to throw up any surprise victories.

John Cena def. The Rock

I didn’t really get excited by the prospect of these two facing each other the first time around as they make my blood boil for very different reasons. This time however, it’s blatantly obvious that Cena is going to win. There’s absolutely no way WWE is going to allow its biggest permanent asset to look weak by losing to 40 year old, part-timer, two years in a row.

The Undertaker def. CM Punk

For as long as Mark Calloway wants to continue wrestling his streak is safe. No-one is going to end it, no matter how much younger and on top of their game they are like CM Punk.

Punk even mentioned in an interview recently that he doesn’t think the streak should end. We all know that he likes to do what us best for business, it is unlikely he would have agreed to this match if he thought huge stood a chance of winning. Enhance his reputation and legacy, yes, but not win.

Triple H def. Brock Lesnar

Two things make me convinced that ‘The Grand’ will win this one. Firstly, he lost at Summerslam, so it’s likely he’ll be booked to avenge his loss and the broken arms he’s given him and his friend Shawn Michaels.

Secondly, I find it hard too believe that a man who keeps himself in such good condition would be able to stay away from thge squared circle for very long. So having him lose and then cone back would only cheapen thge stipulation of this match. It would be typical of WWE, but expected.

Alberto Del Rio def. Jack Swagger

Admittedly, this one could go either way. Which despite the undeserved disappointment some people have that this isn’t really Wrestlemania worthy, the unpredictability of it actually makes it one of the more eagerly anticipated matches in my eyes.

I still think they’ll go with a win for Del Rio. Solely based on WWE’s need for a big Mexican star now that Mysterio’s crocked and Sin Cara has been major disappointment. Having said that I do hope Swagger wins, I don’t agree with his views but I’m enjoying the presentation of his character, and I’m interested to see how it would develop.

Ryback def. Mark Henry

Ryback has gone on way too long a losing streak in major matches at PPV’s for them to allow him to lose another at the biggest event of them all. They spent too much time on him to start throwing it all away now.

Also, I hear there are rumours that Henry could be leaving WWE after this event.

The Shield def. Orton, Sheamus & Big Show

This prediction is more in hope I think. It would be waste of time not have The Shield win. I mean why build Orton, Sheamus & Big Show as a team? They’re not going to continue teaming, so have them do the job to the team that will. That’ll be the best way of getting The Shield over.

Also, it’s common knowledge that Orton wants to be a heel again, and with Big Show turning face, there’s an opening for him. I just sense a mix up in the match and defeat will finally push him over the edge.

Fandango def. Chris Jericho

Not many debuts end in defeat. Especially ones with so much build up and I don’t expect to change here. I don’t expect Fandango to win without there being some contentious issue though, just so Jericho can save face with the fans.

The main reason I think Fandango will win is because Jericho has expressed an interest in helping the younger talent develop and get over now he’s 42.

Dolph Ziggler & Big E Langston def. Team Hell No

I believe Team Hell No has run its course. Fan interest seems to be dying down and Daniel Bryan has admitted that he is tired of playing a comedic role in TV.

Team Rhodes Scholars & Bella Twins def. Tons of Funk & Funkadactyls

This is probably the most unpredictable match on the card. However, despite being less talented than Naomi and Cameron, I don’t think The Bella’s came back to lose on the biggest pay say of the year.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Craig Watford

I graduated form Sheffield Hallam University with 2.1 in Journalism Studies in 2010. I am mainly interested in writing about sports with my favourite sport being football(soccer). I have watched wrestling religiously since I was about 8-9 years old. My favourite match of all time is Austin vs The Rock at Wrestlemania 17.

Leave a Reply

