The New Extreme?

It suddenly dawned on me how unaccustomed I had become to the sight of blood when I embarrassingly said “Oh my God!” when I noticed that Jack Swagger had a little bit of blood coming from his right shoulder.

The reason I was so shocked by this was because only about seven years ago that the sight of Shawn Michaels and Ric Flair wearing the proverbial ‘Crimson Mask’ was so common and expected that you barely even noticed it.

WWE now so rarely uses matches of this nature, especially too such degree on one night that the sight of a table, a chair or a cane has become a novelty again.

The problem is for older fans is that we’ve seen all these weapons being used in far more devastating and sadistic ways thanks to the likes of ECW. So when we see foreign objectors being used in a pretty basic manner that were on Sunday, its hard to take the PPV Extreme Rules seriously when there are no boundaries being pushed .

In fact, we now live with a generation if viewers who have never seen the likes if Tommy Dreamer, Sandman, Sabu or Mick Foley, the likes of which took hardcore wrestling to a whole new level. A generation of which that voted John Cena as the most extreme wrestler ever. They obviously paid no attention to the subject, matter of the poll and just saw it as popularity contest.

Tags: , , , ,

About Craig Watford

I graduated form Sheffield Hallam University with 2.1 in Journalism Studies in 2010. I am mainly interested in writing about sports with my favourite sport being football(soccer). I have watched wrestling religiously since I was about 8-9 years old. My favourite match of all time is Austin vs The Rock at Wrestlemania 17.

Leave a Reply

